top of page
pca logo.jpeg

a million years ago

25 Jun 1988, Manhattan, New York City, New York State, USA --- Original caption: New York: New York skyline looms in the background, as residents examine the New York Memorial Quilt on Central Park's Great Lawn. The quilt consists of close to 1,500 panels bearing the names and images of people who have died of AIDS. --- Image by © Bettmann/CORBIS

25 Jun 1988, Manhattan, New York City, New York State, USA — Original caption: New York: New York skyline looms in the background, as residents examine the New York Memorial Quilt on Central Park’s Great Lawn. The quilt consists of close to 1,500 panels bearing the names and images of people who have died of AIDS. — Image by © Bettmann/CORBIS


this year, to commemorate world aids day, i could think of nothing more appropriate than  “million years ago” by adele. the lyrics, her voice, the sentiment- they blend so naturally to reflect the sweet and tender memories that are woven so intricately into my history. december 1 is a day to reflect and remember- also sweet and stinging.

these stats are reposted from unaids.org

GLOBAL STATISTICS

  1. 15.8 million people accessing antiretroviral therapy (June 2015)

  2. 36.9 million [34.3 million–41.4 million] people globally were living with HIV (end 2014)

  3. 2 million [1.9 million–2.2 million] people became newly infected with HIV (end 2014)

  4. 1.2 million [980 000–1.6 million] people died from AIDS-related illnesses (end 2014)

People living with HIV accessing antiretroviral therapy

  1. As of June 2015, 15.8 million people living with HIV were accessing antiretroviral therapy, up from 13.6 million in June 2014.

  2. 41% [38%-46%] of all adults living with HIV were accessing treatment in 2014, up from 23% [21%-24%] in 2010.

  3. 32% [30%-34%] of all children living with HIV were accessing treatment in 2014, up from 14% [13%-15%] in 2010.

  4. 73% [68%-79%] of pregnant women living with HIV had access to antiretroviral medicines to prevent transmission of HIV to their babies in 2014; new HIV infections among children were reduced by 58% from 2000 to 2014.

People living with HIV

  1. In 2014, there were 36.9 million [34.3 million–41.4 million] people living with HIV.

  2. Since 2000, around 38.1 million people have become infected with HIV and 25.3 million people have died of AIDS-related illnesses.

New HIV infections

  1. New HIV infections have fallen by 35% since 2000.

  2. Worldwide, 2 million [1.9 million–2.2 million] people became newly infected with HIV in 2014, down from 3.1 million [3.0 million–3.3 million] in 2000.

  3. New HIV infections among children have declined by 58% since 2000.

  4. Worldwide, 220 000 [190 000–260 000] children became newly infected with HIV in 2014, down from 520 000 [470 000–580 000] in 2000.

i remember life when there was no world aids day. when there was no need and then when no one dared. so many souls have departed. so many more have been altered forever.  the atmosphere has changed from horror and fear to curiosity and acceptance. the conversations have moved from death and quarantine to access to treatment and cure. the world has changed. and so have i. so have we all.

those were the days my friend we thought they'd never end

those were the days my friend we thought they’d never end


“Million Years Ago”

I only wanted to have fun Learning to fly, learning to run I let my heart decide the way When I was young Deep down I must have always known That this would be inevitable To earn my stripes I’d have to pay And bare my soulI know I’m not the only one Who regrets the things they’ve done Sometimes I just feel it’s only me Who can stand the reflection that they see I wish I could live a little more Look up to the sky, not just the floor I feel like my life is flashing by And all I can do is watch and cry I miss the air, I miss my friends I miss my mother; I miss it when Life was a party to be thrown But that was a million years agoWhen I walk around all of the streets Where I grew up and found my feet They can’t look me in the eye It’s like they’re scared of me I try to think of things to say Like a joke or a memory But they don’t recognize me now In the light of dayI know I’m not the only one Who regrets the things they’ve done Sometimes I just feel it’s only me Who never became who they thought they’d be I wish I could live a little more Look up to the sky, not just the floor I feel like my life is flashing by And all I can do is watch and cry I miss the air, I miss my friends I miss my mother, I miss it when Life was a party to be thrown But that was a million years ago A million years ago.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tag Us #PCACO

About

Since 2015, PCA has consistently provided CCAR Recovery Coach Training and Education.  The focus is  always on the individual. The  goal of the Recovery Coach Professional (RCP) is to help individuals, reach their full potential in recovery. 

Read More...

Services

Recovery Coach Trainings

1VOZ-Bilingual Telephone Support

El Paso County RECO 

RECO Pueblo

Chain Breakers Mesa County

Don't Look Back Center 

RCO Development

And More

Copyright © Embark/PCA Colorado 2024, All Rights Reserved

Designed By:

kinedic_media_logo_2020.png
bottom of page