top of page
pca logo.jpeg

song to the siren…








Tim Buckley Long afloat on shipless oceans I did all my best to smile 'Til your singing eyes and fingers Drew me loving to your isle And you sang Sail to me, sail to me Let me enfold you Here I am, here I am Waiting to hold you Did I dream you dreamed about me? Were you hare when I was fox? Now my foolish boat is leaning Broken lovelorn on your rocks For you sing 'Touch me not, touch me not Come back tomorrow Oh, my heart, oh, my heart Shies from the sorrow' I am as puzzled as the oyster I am as troubled at the tide Should I stand amid the breakers? Or should I lie with death my bride? Hear me sing 'Swim to me, swim to me Let me enfold you Oh, my heart, oh, my heart Is waiting to hold you

Tim Buckley Long afloat on shipless oceans I did all my best to smile ‘Til your singing eyes and fingers Drew me loving to your isle And you sang Sail to me, sail to me Let me enfold you Here I am, here I am Waiting to hold you Did I dream you dreamed about me? Were you hare when I was fox? Now my foolish boat is leaning Broken lovelorn on your rocks For you sing ‘Touch me not, touch me not Come back tomorrow Oh, my heart, oh, my heart Shies from the sorrow’ I am as puzzled as the oyster I am as troubled at the tide Should I stand amid the breakers? Or should I lie with death my bride? Hear me sing ‘Swim to me, swim to me Let me enfold you Oh, my heart, oh, my heart Is waiting to hold you


there are so many confounding realities and rules that we dance around in this 21st century american life.

here are just few boggling acceptable ways

1) buying and owning guns is a far less restricted past time than owning a car-

every car owner must have insurance and must pass a test that qualifies them to operate a vehicle and it needs to be renewed with some consistency. deaths by car are less than deaths by guns- i wonder why no one cares that those numbers are connected to licenses, tests, insurance, and liability.

2) medical decisions, treatment decisions,  procedure decisions are based on financial interests of hospitals, doctors, insurance companies and not on the necessity of the afflicted. there are so many instances of these sorts of aberrations, but i will focus on the 30 day in-patient episode. the success rate of this time-restricted treatment prescription is so low that it might just be less than the amount of actual potato in a fast food french fry. it continues because it is a nod to what an insurance company is willing to pay to help someone who is suffering from addiction. it’s just as insulting as if a oncology patient is told they can have 3 of the recommended 12 chemo-therapy treatments. yet this practice does not see change in the future.

3) as our homeless population grows and its ascension is paralleled by the financial worth of the large companies doing business in our country as the mid-range paying jobs move to countries off our shores, we struggle to understand, accept, and care for the weaker ones among us. we even fail to connect that these corporate boondoggles may actually be connected to the disappearance of opportunities.  the tax breaks continue and those dollars get stepped on many times before any homeless housing project or mental health/substance use program get an influx.

these are only a few of the oxymorons we wrap our hearts around in america daily. forgive my rant, but i am trying to remove some cobwebs from my brain.  i have been viewing the world from a tainted lens. this is a prayer for change.

i have been perusing the website for a recovery coach/organizational training group based  named meaningful trainings…

and i came across these professional standards. in a perfect world, i believe these would be the norm:







All Meaningful Trainings partners, affiliates and coaches agree to adhere to the following standards of professional behavior and conduct.

1. Maintain reasonable competence in one’s area(s) of expertise. Primarily demonstrated by staying abreast and informed in that area of expertise via a high level of curiosity, interest and service to its viability & sustainability.

2. Act with integrity, recognizing one’s particular professional strengths and limitations, as well as one’s personal values, beliefs and requirements, especially as they relate directly or indirectly to their work with clients. If in doubt of one’s ability to provide appropriate services and/or to act with integrity, refer client to another service provider.

3. Communicate trainer/coach/client roles, expectations, fee schedules, confidentiality and privacy concerns as clearly as possible and review this ethics statement as early in the relationship as possible.

4. Maintain open and affirming principles and practices, not discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, recovery status, sexual orientation/identification, marital and/or family status.

5. Act professionally, responsibly and respectfully in all affairs, accepting that clients may hold beliefs, values and attitudes that differ from one’s own.

6. Remain aware of individual and/or cultural differences, but strive to eliminate any effect they may have on one’s work.

7. Refrain from participation in and/or knowing support of unfair and/or discriminatory practices.

8. Maintain confidentiality with regard to all professional relationships and practices in keeping with the requirements of individual conscience, institutional regulations and/or the law. Disclosure of confidential information may take place only with the express written consent of the client or legally authorized designate, unless prohibited by law. Disclosure may be compelled by law in certain circumstances.

9. Document all work appropriately, maintain, disseminate, store, retain, and dispose of records and data relating to one’s professional relationships and/or practice in accordance with all applicable legal requirements, protecting clients’ privacy at all times.

10. Exhibit and sustain concern for the ongoing well-being and success of the client.


<ol> <li><a href='https://afterthepop.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/02-song-to-the-siren-1.m4a'>Song to the Siren</a></li> </ol>








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tag Us #PCACO

About

Since 2015, PCA has consistently provided CCAR Recovery Coach Training and Education.  The focus is  always on the individual. The  goal of the Recovery Coach Professional (RCP) is to help individuals, reach their full potential in recovery. 

Read More...

Services

Recovery Coach Trainings

1VOZ-Bilingual Telephone Support

El Paso County RECO 

RECO Pueblo

Chain Breakers Mesa County

Don't Look Back Center 

RCO Development

And More

Copyright © Embark/PCA Colorado 2024, All Rights Reserved

Designed By:

kinedic_media_logo_2020.png
bottom of page